Live updates: Coronavirus (COVID-19) in the UK

Use our timeline to follow the latest coronavirus developments relevant to primary care.

Friday 25th September

UK cases increase to 416,363 and 41,902 people are confirmed to have died.

Updated government advice says care home residents and staff will be first to receive COVID-19 vaccinations.

Wednesday 23rd September

UK cases increase to 403,551 and 41,825 people are confirmed to have died.

BMA demands 'rule of six' overhaul to prevent further lockdowns.

Friday 18th September

UK cases increase to 381,614 and 41,705 people are confirmed to have died.

Thursday 17th September

UK cases increase to 378,219 and 41,684 people are confirmed to have died.

Government denies plan to make GPs 'gatekeepers' of COVID-19 testing.

Wednesday 16th September

UK cases increase to 374,228 and 41,664 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs demand priority COVID-19 testing to secure workforce in second wave.

BMA demands greater protection for doctors as it remembers COVID-19 deaths.

Monday 14th September

UK cases increase to 368,504 and 41,628 people are confirmed to have died.

GMC fitness to practise advice changed to factor in COVID-19 pandemic.

Friday 11th September

UK cases increase to 358,138 and 41,608 people are confirmed to have died.

BMA chair urges GPs to be open about mental health amid pandemic.

Thursday 10th September

UK cases increase to 355,219 and 41,594 people are confirmed to have died.

Poll reveals fears over COVID-19 inequality as patients' confidence in GP visits returns.

Wednesday 9th September

UK cases increase to 352,560 and 41,586 people are confirmed to have died.

RCGP demands support for GPs dealing with thousands of 'long COVID' patients.

Doctors urge government to 'get a grip' as COVID-19 testing falters.

Monday 7th September

UK cases increase to 347,152 and 41,551 people are confirmed to have died.

Friday 4th September

UK cases increase to 340,411 and 41,527 people are confirmed to have died.

RCGP backs weekly COVID-19 testing for all NHS staff.

Thursday 3rd September

UK cases increase to 338,676 and 41,514 people are confirmed to have died.

Wednesday 2nd September

UK cases increase to 337,168 and 41,504 people are confirmed to have died.

Popular Welsh GP becomes 13th to die after contracting COVID-19.

Tuesday 1st September

UK cases increase to 335,873 and 41,501 people are confirmed to have died.

BMA poll shows one in 6 GPs plan to quit or retire early after COVID-19

Friday 28th August

UK cases increase to 330,368 and 41,477 people are confirmed to have died.

Government says physios and paramedics could deliver flu and COVID-19 vaccines.

Thursday 27th August

UK cases increase to 328,846 and 41,465 people are confirmed to have died.

Wednesday 26th August

UK cases increase to 327,798 and 41,449 people are confirmed to have died.

Tuesday 25th August

UK cases increase to 326,086 and 41,433 people are confirmed to have died.

Monday 24th August

UK cases increase to 325,642 and 41,429 people are confirmed to have died.

BMA poll shows sharp rise in GPs reporting worsening mental health in COVID-19 pandemic.

Thursday 20th August

UK cases increase to 322,280 and 41,403 people are confirmed to have died.

NHS England's top GP defends practices' response to COVID-19.

Wednesday 19th August

UK cases increase to 320,286 and 41,380 people are confirmed to have died.

Tuesday 18th August

UK cases increase to 319,197 and 41,369 people are confirmed to have died.

Monday 17th August

UK cases increase to 318,484 and 41,366 people are confirmed to have died.

Patients who refuse to wear a mask could be denied face-to-face GP appointment.

Friday 14th August

UK cases increase to 316,367 and 41,358 people are confirmed to have died.

Thursday 13th August

UK cases increase to 313,798 and 41,329 people are confirmed to have died after Public Health England revises the way daily death statistics are reported.

Poll suggests more than one in five GPs has had COVID-19.

Tuesday 11th August

UK cases increase to 311,641.

Monday 10th August

UK cases increase to 310,825.

Friday 7th August

UK cases increase to 309,005.

Wednesday 5th August

UK cases increase to 307,184.

Details on how practices can claim COVID-19 support funding announced.

Tuesday 4th August

UK cases increase to 306,293.

Friday 31st July

UK cases increase to 302,301.

Government changes self-isolation rules for GPs going abroad.

Thursday 30th July

UK cases increase to 301,455.

People with COVID-19 symptoms asked to self-isolate for 10 days.

Monday 27th July

UK cases increase to 299,426.

Tuesday 21st July

UK cases increase to 295,372.

Monday 20th July

UK cases increase to 294,792. Public Health England pauses publication of daily death statistics to review the way these are reported.

Promising early results reported for UK COVID-19 vaccine.

Friday 17th July

UK cases increase to 292,552 and 45,119 people are confirmed to have died.

GP clinical administration work surges as practices tackle COVID-19 backlog.

Thursday 16th July

UK cases increase to 291,911 and 45,053 people are confirmed to have died.

Monday 13th July

UK cases increase to 289,603 and 44,819 people are confirmed to have died.

Government clarifies how GPs should handle COVID-19 test results.

Thursday 9th July

UK cases increase to 286,979 and 44,517 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs condemn 'deafening silence' from chancellor on COVID support funding.

Tuesday 7th July

UK cases increase to 285,768 and 44,236 people are confirmed to have died.

RCGP says lessons from pandemic can shape sustainable post-COVID general practice.

Monday 6th July

UK cases reported to have reached 285,416 after adjustment of the figure to remove duplicates, and 44,220 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs being asked to contact all children on shielding lists this summer.

Thursday 2nd July

UK cases increase to 313,483 and 43,906 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs fear surge of avoidable illness as patients skip routine vaccinations in pandemic.

Wednesday 1st July

UK cases increase to 312,654 and 43,730 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs plan drive-through flu clinics amid COVID-19 safety fears.

Monday 29th June

UK cases increase to 311,965 and 43,575 people are confirmed to have died.

Fifth of shielding patients say their condition has worsened during pandemic.

Thursday 25th June

UK cases increase to 306,862 and 43,081 people are confirmed to have died.

BMA warns GP practices are being left out of pocket as COVID-19 relief fund fails to materialise.

Tuesday 23rd June

UK cases increase to 305,289 and 42,647 people are confirmed to have died.

New risk prediction model helps GPs target shielding at most vulnerable patients.

GPs face 'tsunami of extra work' created by pandemic.

Tuesday 16th June

UK cases increase to 296,857 and 41,736 people are confirmed to have died.

Friday 12th June

UK cases increase to 292,950 and 41,481 people are confirmed to have died.

Poll suggests more than two thirds of GP partners fear financial loss due to COVID-19.

Tuesday 9th June

UK cases increase to 289,140 and 40,883 people are confirmed to have died.

Researchers confirm inflammatory syndrome in children is a new condition likely linked to SARS-COV-2.

Wednesday 3rd June

UK cases increase to 279,856 and 39,728 people are confirmed to have died.

Tuesday 26th May

UK cases increase to 265,227 and 37,048 people are confirmed to have died.

Monday 25th May

UK cases increase to 261,184 and 36,914 people are confirmed to have died.

Thursday 21st May

UK cases increase to 248,293 and 35,704 people are confirmed to have died.

Over 300 NHS and care workers confirmed to have died from COVID-19 as Johnson backs 'absurd' overseas levy.

Tuesday 19th May

UK cases increase to 246,406 and 34,796 people are confirmed to have died.

NHS England warns GPs will need to innovate to resume routine care safely.

Friday 15th May

UK cases increase to 233,151 and 33,614 people are confirmed to have died.

Coroner confirms GPs do not need to verify deaths in person.

CQC to check in with all practices by video call starting next week.

Thursday 14th May

UK cases increase to 229,705 and 33,186 people are confirmed to have died.

RCGP chair warns shift away from face-to-face care after pandemic could be dangerous.

Friday 24th April

UK cases increase to 143,464 and 19,506 people are confirmed to have died.

NHS England confirms splenectomy patients added to COVID-19 shielding list.

BMA says May bank holiday GP services will vary 'by area'.

Thursday 16th April

UK cases increase to 103,093 and 13,729 people are confirmed to have died.

GPs develop advice on video consultations for COVID-19.

Experts warn doctors are vulnerable to legal challenge during pandemic.

Monday 13th April

UK cases increase to 84,279 and 10,621 people are confirmed to have died.

Friday 3rd April

UK cases increase to 38,168 and 3605 people are confirmed to have died.

GP leaders say a quarter of GPs are self-isolating, many unnecessarily.

Government relaxes 10-week pension rule.

Tuesday 31st March

UK cases increase to 25,150 and 1789 people are confirmed to have died.

Locum GPs to be guaranteed full death-in-service rights.

Tuesday 24th March

UK cases increase to 6650, and 335 patients are confirmed to have died.

GP practices warned to maintain key services to limit deaths from non-COVID-19 related illnesses.

Friday 20th March

UK cases increase to 3269, and 144 patients are confirmed to have died.

15,000 doctors invited to return to NHS frontline to fight coronavirus.

GPs urged not to stop ARBs or ACE inhibitors.

Monday 16th March

UK cases increase to 1391, and 35 UK patients are confirmed to have died.

CQC inspections suspended.

Top GP urges government to 'get a move on' recalling retired doctors.

Thursday 12th March

UK cases increase to 596, and eight UK patients are confirmed to have died.

Officials say context will count if doctors face complaints in coronavirus outbreak.

Locums demand sick pay and death-in-service guarantee.

Monday 9th March

UK cases increase to 319, and three UK patients are confirmed to have died.

GPonline publishes an overview of the key guidance for GPs.

GPs call for suspension of routine appointments during outbreak.

Wednesday 4th March

Total number of UK cases rises by 34, to a total of 85.

20,000-patient GP practice in Devon closes for 2 weeks.

Monday 24th February

Four British passengers repatriated from a Japanese cruise ship test positive, bringing the total number of UK cases to 13.

Weds 19th February

A total of 4,916 people have now been tested for the virus as of 18th February, of whom 4,907 were confirmed negative and 9 positive.

Sat 15th February

8 of the 9 UK patients reported to have been discharged.

Thurs 13th February

Ninth case reported in the UK – the first in London.

A GP practice in Islington, London closes.

Weds 12th February

The two Brighton practices closed by the outbreak reopen to patients.

The two infected healthcare workers are revealed to be an A&E staffer at Worthing hospital and a locum doctor in Brighton.

Government says it is evaluating the potential impact of coronavirus on UK medicine supply.

Mon 10th February

      GP surgery closes in Brighton as four new cases reported in the UK, bringing the total to 8.
Government declares outbreak a 'serious and imminent threat' to public health.

Sun 9th February

    Fourth case confirmed in the UK.

Thurs 6th February

    Third case confirmed in the UK.

Want news like this straight to your inbox?
Sign up for our bulletins

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Register
Already registered?
Sign in